top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureYan De Oliveira

World Above - Angel Narcissist

An EP based on religious motifs.


This EP was fairly quick to make and released not long after its production, being a more experimental take on religious music and imagery, based heavily in holy music and motifs, the theming is fairly overt and in your face. Its supposed to be a (mostly) respectful take on a certain spiritual beauty and feeling of belonging, except for the last song in the trio.


Tracklist:

1 - Intro 2 - Dancing Haven

3 . Flood me Fire





 

Intro

This song was the most inspired of the three on holy music, but also basing the chords on a song for the show Bojack Horseman - Seaport; in fact, if listened side to side the structure of the song will be fairly similar.

It was made in the same day as the other three, and not long after my trip with my family to Father Cicero's monument.

During that trip I was still coming to terms with my spirituality, and so this song is a reflexion of the kind of reverence I felt and still feel about Christianity and its cultural impact, not only in my region but in my country and most of europe as well.


 

Dancing Haven

In contrast with Intro, this isn't as religiously charged, as it was not as heavily based on holy music. It still carries much of the motifs that carried the EPs Intro, but much more subdued, more of a positive nod to that spiritual and cultural side I felt so heavily during my trip.

Its the calmest song of the trio, much more relaxed and tranquil, its a song trying to represent a meditative state of mind, and hopefully that shows through the song.


 

Flood me Fire

Now the fun and more internally interesting part. Flood me Fire is a total 180º compared to the other tracks, so much so that I considered cutting this track entirely from the release and only have 2 songs. The reason for this chaos is much in part for the sense of my conflicting spirituality at the time, I wasn't exactly sure what I was, my true beliefs and such, and that surfaced in a chaos of mind and soul that I tried to represent with this busier, more aggressive piece.

It's admitetly a lot risqué compared to the rest of the songs, some may see this is as me trying to say that Christianity is a violent and unforgiving religion, but that was not the point.

At the end this was a much more personal EP than expected, much less about just the motifs that I was trying to hit, but also of the internal strife I felt back then.


Its one of the more interesting EPs I've produced so far, that's for sure and I hope that it at least entertains some of you that may read and take a listen. All tracks are free to download and to stream on bandcamp, so share around so more people may know of my work! Thanks a lot for reading, much love.

- Yan


29 views0 comments
bottom of page